Ginny Brooks

Wonder : Identity: Exploration

Little Prince

2 Comments

I assist at a school that is somewhat international with quite a few nationalities represented.  There are many children from Japan, different parts of Europe, South Africa and all over Asia.  There is one little boy from Israel who is around 3.  I haven’t seen much reaction from him as far as speech is concerned and he can sometimes drift into what seems to be him coping with feeling very uncomfortable; and goes into almost a trance state. I have never seen a child exhibit this type of behavior, and it has been concerned more than a dozen times now.  Today was somewhat rambunctious and outfitted with about every mood among the children. This little boy in particular was triggered into a very unsettling state and was moaning with a low murmur and drooling incessantly all over himself for well over an hour, into two.  I took it upon myself to lay down my other duties at the time and see if there was anything I could do for him.  He was reluctant at first, but I was able to draw him near to me and picked him up, gently rocking him and speaking to him softly.  The murmurs quieted to some degree, but I could still sense his overall sadness and unadjusted temperament.   I started to pray over him quietly and speak in tongues for a good 10 minute or so.. we both stared out the window and with tears in his eyes he watched the tree canopy sway in the wind.   I felt like the prayers had been working and when I spoke the word Shalom over him he looked directly at me and I could see his receptivity upon hearing a word in his native language.  This was followed by more prayers and he gently fell asleep. I placed him down and he instantly awoke and started crying again; among all of the clamor and high acoustical racket of this room, I would probably cry to.  At this time I was asked to do another task and had to leave him.  

 I came back later in the afternoon to check back in with that class, for the office duties I had needed to attend to were finished.  I found Ofir, that is his name btw grinning from ear to ear when I came back to read a story with the class.  I was so surprised and ecstatic to seem him so pleasant.  As I read the book to the kids, he came right to my lap and was talking like I have never seen him speak!! He was repeating the words I was sharing and answering questions when I asked the class about the book. Which was on Monarch Butterflies. I had never seen him be so responsive after 3 months of working at this place. 

  The class assistant later told me that Ofir asked if I was a mommy. Which is so interesting to me that he said this much and so blessed to hear such a sweet thing. 

I looked up his name- Ofir in Hebrew means “gold”.

He certainly was a little chunk of gold.. and a little prince at that. One of God’s little Sons. These past few months have been a very trying and a restorative time. I have been tested over and over and have been purged of many impurities in this refining process as I am learning more and more about emotional healing of myself and others.  I can’t help but to think how revealing this translation of his name was… 

Author: Ginny Brooks

Co-creator/Explorer of worlds within worlds

2 thoughts on “Little Prince

  1. Reblogged this on Gitardood’s Weblog and commented:
    It’s stories like this when shared that remind us of a couple of things. One, that the Father wants to refine us like pure gold, getting rid of the impurities little by little, line upon line, precept upon precept, by the washing of the Word, as we allow our minds to be transformed. Two, that He wants us to come to Him like that little prince Ofir, as a child, with trust in Him believing that He has our best interests at heart.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on StarSword and commented:
    What’s in a name. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

